I’m Back

Not that I’ve really been away, it’s that for the past two months I really couldn’t be bothered.

So what’s been happening I hear you ask, well I’m hoping someone asked as I’m about to answer the question.

I ran the 15K Run For The Kids in March and PB’d and also beat my goal time by nearly 5 minutes – goal time was 1 hour 30 minutes. The best I’ve ever felt in a race, comfortable pace and well within myself.

Bought a new Garmin watch and stopped running for 7 weeks. Why, I have no idea.

So I decided to sign up for the “Run Melbourne” half marathon in July

First run was yesterday and I have a new plan, less running and more strength work:

ImageImage

Yesterdays first run (6K) for a while was quite easy although most of it was in descent. Another tick off my bucket list occurred on Friday  – Chelle and I did the 1000 steps, Kokoda Memorial Track at the base of the Dandenongs. It’s about 2.5K long and rises to about 600m although that’s only a guess as the GPS wasn’t picking up a satellite.

Image

This was challenging even for us and whilst we weren’t out of breath it got the heart rate up. It’s supposed to give one (the royal one!) an appreciation of what the diggers went through during the 2nd world war but they treked 90km in bogs, scrub, rivers with 40kgs on their back and the enemy shooting at them. We walked 1000 steps on a mild sunny Melbourne morning.

That said it’s a great walk and well worth a visit if only to read the plaques on the way or the memorials.

Strength work today and 4 by 30 second intervals tomorrow around Princes Park.

 

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

