It Ain’t Half Hot

Another 5 days flash by with no blogging and no let up in the weather. It’s been 30C+ for the past week with the lows being around 20C, although the lows tend to also come with some high humidity – 80%+ most mornings at 6:00am. I hate the heat and the humidity.

Completed 3 runs since my last blog; Fridays tempo 7K run was a long way off what it should have been as it was so humid and Sundays recovery run was another slog. I’ve hardly enjoyed my runs of late but only an injury will force me to stop –  I need to plough on and get through this lethargy and hope for cooler climes. A few cooler days coming up but still in the high 20’s with lows of about 15/16.

In between those two runs I decided to do my long run (12k) for the week around Maribyrnong River – 2 circuits of the red bridge. So I get there nice and early, do a few stretches open the “Runkeeper” app and the phone tells me the battery is low; 8%!!. I haven’t bought a new GPS watch yet so I have no back up – although the phone would normally be the back up. 8% is not gonna last me an hour plus so I jump back in the car for 20 minutes waiting for up to charge up to 20%+.

Not sure where it gets 133 metre climb from, the track is flat as a pancake.

Screen shot 2013-02-25 at 8.35.07 PM

And here’s the Red Bridge and the Maribyrnong River – not sure of the bridges’ actual name but it is red!

Screen shot 2013-02-25 at 9.12.44 PM

 

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

