Careful What You Wish For

When we were building our new house we contemplated not having a pool, but we thought it would be good for the kids on the summer holidays so we got one put in. As we have only just moved in we also decided not to have a summer holiday for the first time in years.

Well we couldn’t of wished for a better summer, I think it’s rained maybe twice since December 1st and the past week and next week are all high 20’s C and mid 30’s C. As I write it’s 9:30pm and it’s still a balmy 31C. The lows are 19-22C so there’s little relief even at night. The kids have been in the pool everyday and some days it’s an effort to get them out.

The downside to all this heat is the damage it’s doing to my running – I’ve run 4 times in the last 6 days:

Thursday tempo run was an out and out slog in 24C heat.

Friday was insane – I missed the am run due to time constraints so I thought I’d do an easy 7K at 2:00pm in 34C heat. For the first time I felt like giving up, I was over heating, tired, body ached and dripping wet from sweat. How on earth do those 100k runners do it through the desert?

Saturdays long around Princes Park and Carlton was at 8 am but was still 24C and littered with a few walk breaks.

Screen shot 2013-02-18 at 9.41.53 PM

Yesterday was supposed to be my recovery run at a very easy pace. 9:00am it was 28C and in 40 minutes I only covered 6.2K and it was far from easy.

Safe to say I hate the heat when running, give me 6C any day. As you can see I haven’t fixed my Garmin issue and still using Runkeeper which is a cause of frustration as I cannot monitor the distance or pace as easy as the watch. Still probably wouldn’t have mattered this week as it was so hot, slow and debilitating.

Been logging my stats on “Dailymile” week 1 is January 1st:

Screen shot 2013-02-18 at 9.48.35 PM

 

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

