A Few Good Men -Left

I’m not referring to the movie with Tom Cruise and Jack Nicholson, but the general public. There are still a few good men left….

I’m building a deck and I was in Bunnings yesterday inquiring about the cost of the timber and the delivery charge. The lady informs me that because I have 5.4m lengths it would need a big truck and will cost me in excess of $100 – the timber only cost $200 and I only live 8K’s from the store.

A builder standing next to me waiting to get served asks where I live and says chuck it on my truck and I’ll deliver it for you. Fifteen minutes later his truck’s loaded and he’s saved me $49 in timber costs as I’d allowed for timber that wasn’t required.

Next thought that entered my head- what if he drives off with my timber? I don’t have his number or name. I felt guilty for thinking this way and quickly decided that my faith in him was worth $151. Delivered, Harry wouldn’t take any money and I had to force him to take 6 bottles of my wine. He’s saved me $150 and the inconvenience of waiting around for the Bunnings truck to turn up.

I hope Karma pays Harry a visit.

Running and walking wise this week is the same story – a 5:30am meet up with Mike and a 5K walk on Tuesday and Thursday followed by a 5K run and a 7.2K (40 minute) tempo run.

Screen shot 2013-02-07 at 6.53.39 PM

 

 

Screen shot 2013-02-07 at 6.53.04 PMI missed Wednesday’s run due to the heat (37C) and not being able to get out of bed at 5:00am.

Next 3 days are a 7K, 9.6K and a 40 minute easy run.

 

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Few Good Men -Left

  1. JH says:

    I tend to think most people are pretty decent if you give them a chance.

Leave a Reply

