Be Grateful

Been thinking about this post or at least some of the content for about two weeks now. You see, sometimes you just need to take stock of what you have and be bloody grateful.

I have a healthy family and a lifestyle that many millions would  envy, yet I’m want to complain about my lot because it doesn’t work out exactly as planned – the house, pool fence, perimeter fence, concrete, internet etc – I could go on.

So two weeks ago we went shopping at Highpoint shopping centre, a fairly large centre about 10k from us. In a handbag shop  I see a pretty young girl of about 6 or 7 years old  in a wheel chair and it’s pretty clear to me that she’s recently had both her legs amputated between the knee and ankle. I was heartbroken and had to leave the shop.

I thought of all the times that I complained about my leg injuries, the hesitation about going for a run, the disappointment at a slow or unsatisfying run.

It’s no coincidence that I haven’t missed a run on my planner for the past two weeks. I wont labour the point but I think you know my what I’m saying.

Two runs this weekend, one long run and one really easy run sees the kilometerage ( that needs to be added to the dictionary) clock over the 50K for the past 2 weeks.

Image

Image

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

