Walk, Run, Connect

After yesterday’s post I committed to a 5:30am walk with Mike and to texting Cilla to see how she was – I haven’t communicated with her for at least 2 months.

Set the alarm for 5:00am but at 3:06am I’m woken by my phone telling me I have a message. It’s Cilla; she’s in Auckland with Sir Galahad after returning from a trip to Cuba – alone I think. Some sort of friend I am, never even knew she was going to Cuba or if she did tell me I’d forgotten! It’s not like you decide one week to go to Cuba and you’re there the following week is it? Must have been months of planning for that trip as I’m sure there’s no direct flight from Tullamarine to Castro Airport or is it Fidel’s? Anyway I’m sure they’d be at least 3 connecting flights.

So now I’m awake and I lay there wondering what she was doing in Cuba, maybe an under cover spy for the soviet union, a conference for aged health, did she tell me about the trip? what’s the time in Auckland? or Cuba for that matter, not that it’s relevant, but when you’re half asleep the mind wanders.

I eventually fall asleep for a nano second and the alarm goes off and I meet Mike for a walk around Princes Park- roughly 5K at pretty fast clip – 45 minutes.

Mike goes off to work and I decide to complete my 35 minute tempo run whilst it’s still coolish. Perfect pace for me at the moment, the training is going exactly to plan. Princes is Park is a perfect place for me to run my tempo’s as it’s nice and flat and there’s always plenty of runners there keeping me focused/motivated.

Image

Tennis

Got rid of one of the grunters, now for the other; come on Stephens.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Walk, Run, Connect

  1. sassydrcil says:

    fear not, Cilla will tell you all about it (cuba)

Leave a Reply

