Sometimes You Just Have To Make An Effort

and I’m not talking about running. It struck me today that my exercise routine and that of Michelle’s afforded me many excuses why I cannot get out for an hour’s walk with an old friend.

The excuses:

  • Can’t because I have a 4K run in the morning
  • Can’t because Michelle’s at the Gym
  • Can’t because I ‘ve got to pick/drop the boys off

Mike ( my old friend  – not old, old, I’ve known him for a few years) has asked me three times this week and I’ve knocked him back three times.

So tomorrow, he and I are walking around Princes park for an hour at 5:30am -Mike’s not a runner. I’m supposed to do a 40 minute tempo run tomorrow and will either have to do it tomorrow during the day on the hottest day of the week (37C) or I’ll postpone it to Friday. Memo to myself, see wasn’t so hard was it?

Another friend who I used to run with at weekends has also been let down, ignored forgotten about, so I’m going to text her tonight to see how she is. It’s so easy to get wrapped in my own life that I tend to neglect other people on the fringes of it. Need to address that.

Run wise, I had a 4.1K yesterday after I dropped my car off for a service and a hard 6K run this morning. Looking ahead at my planner, I’m amazed that February has me running nearly 160K’s. My biggest month last year was October at 100.3K’s. I should be cherry ripe for the Run for The Kids in March.Screen shot 2013-01-23 at 6.36.21 PMScreen shot 2013-01-23 at 6.35.54 PM

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

