On the road again

Quite!

Been a while since I last posted and last ran – nearly 5 weeks. The moving into the new house put paid to any thoughts of getting up early for a run. Summer also played its part – it’s really warm here at the moment and I’m a cold weather runner.

The new house is coming together, albeit slowly from a works point of view but my bank account seems to be in freefall. The concrete is done and the pool is now playable, thank heavens as we’re just about to hit a hot spell – 30+C days every day next week, with most in the high 30’s.

Image

We had friends over from the UK – well they’re actually living in France now but lets not split hairs. They spent 8 days in Melbourne and are now in Sydney. We’ve forgotten how expensive it is to eat and drink out in the city – $40 for a round of drinks and $120 for 2 adult and 2 kids meals. Still, shouldn’t complain, we had a great time.

left to right – Me, Chelle, Anna and Mick

Image

Last night was new years eve – you may have missed it! True to form, I was asleep before “seeing” it in. To be honest, I’ve never really seen the point of “seeing” in a new year – I don’t need an excuse to get drunk with a “not before midnight” timeline. Seems like a load of crap to me -just saying.

Anyway, had a few beers and a nice red last night and duly passed out around 10:30pm. Awoke about 7:00am this morning and decided to go for a run, against the wishes of my body – it ached, I had twinges and it was warm.

3.5K in 19 minutes in 24C heat was a struggle, but I didn’t have a walk break and feel heaps better for it – having a nice cold pool to dive in also aids the recovery.

Not sure when the next run is but I need to put a plan together.

Oh and Happy New Year to everyone

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

