Hello Darkness, My Old Friend…

…I’ve come to talk with you again…

The last time I wrote this as a blog heading was when I successfully completed 28 days straight off the alcohol.

This time it’s has a whole different meaning.

Totally of topic for a running blog.

Bella was our female Golden Labrador, timid a dog you’d ever meet. She never barked in fact when I yelled at the kids she’d cower in her kennel. She’d wag her tail off when we’d return home. She never deserved me

She used to roll around the garden when the kids were playing even though her hind legs had severe arthritis. She could hardly climb a step and she’d lost a lot of weight lately that led to suspicions of cancer. I’m trying to justify my position here but failing miserable.

We’ve finally moved 2 days ago into our new house, pool and all – the latter was due to be worked on over the weekend so I didn’t fence it off………..

This morning Bella drowned in our pool. I can’t help thinking how she must have struggled – the pool had boards over it so her weight would have collapsed them. I let her down. I didn’t protect her. I feel so bad, sure she was 16 and had a good life and this may have been the lass painful way to die but.but…….

Screen shot 2012-11-30 at 7.13.36 PM

I dug a hole – a big one – 4 ft by 3ft by 4ft deep. For three hours I sweated buckets which camouflaged my tears. I rolled her up in towels ( to keep her warm???) and buried her with Wilson’s ashes ( her mate who died 2 years ago)

 

Running? we did the color run but who really cares right now?

 

 

 

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hello Darkness, My Old Friend…

  1. Cilla says:

    So sorry to hear about this! Big hugs for you, see you soon.

Leave a Reply

