Salomon Trail Race #4 – Anglesea

The last in the series of four trail runs and my 3rd consecutive of the series. Anglesea is about 1.5 hours drive from Melbourne so I put a notice on the “Running” meetup website to see if others needed to carpool. Had 2 takers, Bart a new recruit who’s only been in Australia from 3 weeks ( from Belgium) and Rosy who I’ve run with before.

Early start – 6:30am – I pick them both up from Bart’s place in Flemington and we head out of town towards Geelong. An hour into the journey and it’s absolutely pouring with rain. We arrive at the venue with an hour to spare and find a car park about 100m from the start line on the beach. It’s still raining. We sit in the car for about 30 minutes and Bart and Rosy leave to start their race. They’re doing the 14K run which started at 9am and I’m doing the 7K which started at 9:20am.

The rain eases as the 14kers start and holds off for the 7Kers.

I head out to the start and I again place myself back with the slower runners and take it easy for the first K or so. Within a 100 meters we’re running through the swale which is about 6 inches deep. Runners and socks are now soaking wet.

2.5K uphill spreads the field but as it’s a single track, it’s difficult passing and in parts it slows to a walk. This is a cause of frustration but  in some respects a relief.

Last 4K was downhill but still challenging as the wind got up and the sandy beach home was heavy and the rain started coming down.

Official time was 47:17 for 7.6K.

As this is the last of the series I have searched for other trail runs and found this one about 3 hours outside Melbourne – “Run From The Hills” – looking for 3 others to join me in an overnight stay in Avoca and a 21k run the next day.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

