Running Meetup

No blogging generally means no running and that’s been the case after my trail run last Sunday. I had the week off and planned a run around Princes Park with Cilla on Sunday.

I pulled up brilliantly from my trail run, no aches, pains, strains or fatigue. I guess the softer ground is good for my knees and muscles.

Well party girl sends me a text at 2:30am Sunday morning telling me she’s still partying and will not be able to make the run as she’s having so much fun -I must be getting old 2:30am is not a time on my clock.

I get the message at 6:30am and make a decision to join a running group along the city trail for a 10K run. I needed to meet them under the Princes Street bridge – how was I to know who they were, I was hoping there weren’t too many people there to confuse me.

Got there with minutes to spare and managed to find them with ease. Exchanged pleasantries withe group and they decided I was fast as I would be happy with a 1 hour 10K. A guy named Andrew and I set the pace which was way faster than I really wanted to go, but I didn’t want to let them down.

First 5K in 28 minutes and the conversations are slow and measured. The second 5K was interspersed with a few walk breaks but still only took 28 minutes. It was a hard run but very satisfying, I can’t wait to run with them again, I had so much fun – Princes Park tomorrow is my next run with them.

I’ve also signed up for the 3rd Salomon Series run in Silvan. I managed to convince Michelle’s uncle to join me.

 

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

