Slow Down But Hurry Up

If I thought Thursday’s morning run was cold, then this mornings was decidedly freezing. Even at 7:30am it was only 3 degrees. So after I’d deiced the windscreen I headed to Princes Park  for another 3 laps or 9.5K.

I’ve never been one to do lap after lap, I rarely ever do two laps of the same circuit for fear of boredom. I even checked out the distances of extending the run to Lygon or Rathdown Streets, just so I didn’t have to do three laps. In the end I justified that Princes Park is somewhat different; 1, it’s nice and flat; 2, the gravel is easier on my aging knees; 3, there’s lots of other people feed off.

By the time I’d parked the car the temperature had dropped to 1C. As I disrobed I was questioning my sanity, but hey there were plenty of other people doing it so I might as well be as mad as they.

First K was way too fast but I was cold and needed to warm up so I kept up my mid 5 minute K pace for the next couple of K’s. Eased off a little in the next few K’s and all of a sudden after the 6K mark I had a burst of energy, I felt really good so I upped the ante- last 3 K’s 5:15, 5:02 and 4:37. Bizarre!

 

 

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Slow Down But Hurry Up

  1. gogirl2012 says:

    I always find it interesting that my time improves as I go, miles 1 for me is always my slowest and usually mile 3 my best.

Leave a Reply

