Cold

Another run around Princes Park this morning and I used Runkeeper again as Michelle was to use the Garmin.

Another cold morning and I’m quietly getting sick of it. 4C at 6:30am is not what I came to Australia for, the brochures showed the sun, sand, beaches, the outback, coral reefs and the surf, it seemed 12 months a year!  As I did choose to live in Melbourne, I only have myself to blame. This Carbon Tax is certainly working!

Set the Runkeeper to alert me at every 5 minutes and every 500m as I was doing 5.5K (at race pace- 5:45 m/k). Fiddled around for ages once I’d started the activity – putting a shuffle on the playlist and then trying to get it into the pouch cost me many seconds. With this in mind I near on sprinted down Royal Parade and the first K comes in it at 5:10.

Phew, that’s quick for me, so i thought I’d ease off a bit but I was feeling really good and the 2nd K has me reeling – 4:59. As you can see I cut off a bit of the full circuit to enable me to do roughly 2 laps of 2.75K to make up my 5.5kK.

Before the end of the 3rd lap I stopped at the car and got a drink, but even with that stop it was still a 5:56 minute K.

I was in two minds. Either try going at the same pace and get as close to 5m/K’s as possible or do the sensible thing and cruise the last lap. The stop gave me the answer as I’d lost all momentum, although the last 2.5 K’s weren’t too shabby.

I’ll be glad when they finish the pathway around the lake as this has become a bit of a bog.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cold

  1. Man, I would love to have some of your cold weather here!

Leave a Reply

