A Week’s A Long Time in Running (or Not)

Stuff the political crap, (these over paid lemmings need to start governing) a week in running parlance is far more important. I find I can go from heady heights to depressing lows in a matter of hours or days. Shame that the climate here in political terms is at an all time low – both sides of the equator.

Michelle being away for 3 days helps the excuse factory but in truth Saturday never happened for any other reason than I couldn’t be bothered. Couldn’t help not running Wed/Thu/Fri as she was away. That doesn’t sound right does it?

Sunday was another two circuits around Princes Park with Cilla, where we talked incessantly at a really easy pace. I’m really enjoying these runs for two reasons – 1 I get to run at a nice easy pace and 2 – I get a voyeuristic view into someone else’s life.

Today I decided that as I’d missed my race pace run last week, a hardish run was called for. Up at 5:00am with the intention of hitting the Princes Park track by 6:00am.

Got to Princes at 5:37am, it was dark and cold – 8C from memory – a few people around, runners and walkers. By 6am it was a hive of activity, running groups of 8-10 have formed, active for life were there with dumb bells and balls. It’s a whole new community.

I even followed Cilla’s Feng Shui of running it clockwise – I think that’s hers and not necessarily mine. Went out like a train and came home like a train and was home by 6:20am

This track feels flat but it’s not – between the 1 and 2k it’s uphill but you do not see the converse side of the downhill – it has to be there but it isn’t apparent.

Really pleased with the time and another run with Cilla this Saturday around the same track.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Week’s A Long Time in Running (or Not)

  1. JH says:

    Having run around that park hundreds if not thousands of times, including 10 in a row once, I have a few clarifications to make…

    1. I don’t care what your Garmin says, if you think there are hills in Princes Park you are either hallucinating or beyond soft.

    2. While I have immense respect for the lovely Dr Cilla and her sense of Feng Shui, anti-clockwise is definitely faster than clockwise.

Leave a Reply

