What Happened To My Weekend?

I’ve always had busy weekends; comes with the territory when you have two boys aged 6 and 10.

Saturday  – 6am, I awake and it’s my “long” run for the week, a steady 6:30 minute k is called for  and 4k is the distance:

Nice easy run at a comfortable pace.

Next up is a lesson for the boys at tennis – managed to grab a piece of toast in between the run and the taxi to tennis. Tennis is for 45 minutes and is a time for me to chat with a fellow father for the best part of the lesson. I’ve chatted with him for at least 2 years, yet I sit here and cannot ever recall saying or remembering his name. He’s an aussie and barracks for Everton in the premier league – we talk about the footy ( he’s Collingwood- I do not have a faith since Fitzroy disbanded), soccer and any other sport that comes to mind. I wonder if he knows my name.

Tennis is followed by boxing and then a visit to “Rampfest” where kids of all ages use ramps, scooters, BMX’s, skates etc. They do tricks, somersaults and whips, sounds complicated doesn’t it?

Saturday night 7:00pm we have tickets to “Nitro circus” a show with FMX bikes , BMX bikes, scooters, skate boards, ski’s and any number of other devices to get airway. We run late so i drop Michelle and the boys off at Rod Laver and go and find a car park off Flinders Street.

Show starts at 7:00pm and I have 10 minutes to get to Rod Laver Arena from Exhibition Street – I run/jog the 1.2 k in my street shoes, jeans, singlet, t shirt and jumper. I’ll pay for this on Sunday as I now have shin splints.

The stunts that these guys/girls performed were nothing short of amazing – down side was that they keep repeating the same moves over and over again – in the end it got monotonous. Great show, but went on for far too long. The whitething north east of the Nitro Circus sign is a guy on a bike.

Home by 11:00pm- sleep and up again early Sunday for a swimming lesson for Sam at 8:30.

Sam then has a party at Action Sports at 10:30am and another at a friends house at 2:00pm.

In  between I managed a nice easy run for 25 minutes- it was a great run, relaxed, easy and  I used my Ipod for the first time in ages – note to myself – the Ipod doesn’t have a touch screen, no matter how hard I try. Faith No More is flavour of the month at the moment.

 

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

