WTG Harry

Harry has been swimming for 8 years and today was his first try at 1K, 40 laps of the swimming schools’ pool.

The furthest he has swam before today was 750m, so we tried to “carb” him up,  gave him a few jelly beans to give him the energy and tried to give him confidence. I’m sad to say that and I doubts that he’d make it.

On the way, he said he was nervous and we tried to calm him. On arrival there were 29 other kids who were all to do their first 1k as well. The nerves seemed to have abated and he was ready. He lined up 5th in his lane, clearly the smallest/youngest.

His support team of mum, dad, Sam, nan and grandpa were there to cheer him on.

A 50m warm up and they were off. Harry started steady and the others in his lane went away quite quickly. I put the lap timer timer on my phone and counted down the 40 laps. One of the group was clearly a stronger swimmer than the rest and finished two to three laps earlier than the rest. Harry plodded on and his 25m splits ranged from 38 to 53 seconds.  

1K in 29:41 – I took his towel up to him and told him how proud I was of him; probably more than he’ll ever know. He said he was tired – me too, emotionally!

Image

Way to go Harry, we are so proud of you.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to WTG Harry

  1. morseyruns says:

    Harry is a bloody legend. And I feel the need to add some pace to my 1km swim which is not that much faster than Harry! Great work:)

Leave a Reply

