Have Plan, Have Will, Have Way?

Another 10 days have expired and I’ve done nothing, in fact I’ve barely thought about it. IT, being running and training: exercise!

I have this kind of hate/hate relationship with running and exercise. I hate not running, yet I hate getting injuries. The two seem to go hand in hand. On the other foot when I’m running I have this love/love relationship where i love the running and the feeling it gives me. It satisfies on three fronts:

  1.  I’m 50 and fitter than I’ve been for 25 years
  2. I feel so proud of myself when I run – I could never work out how people could over 2k let alone a half or full marathon, to be honest the last one is still a mystery
  3. I get to use all this expensive gear that I’ve bought and it doesn’t stare back at me and say; “when am I gonna get a run, loser”?

I’ve had this plan in place for a few days now and it starts Monday with a “Rest” day! I’m not kidding myself anymore. Halves and marathons are probably testing the body at the moment and there’s nothing wrong with a few 10K’s that wont get the heart pumping and the feelgood feeling back.

This week my sinuses have been giving me the shits, so I got some Sudafed from the chemist, I now can see why druggies are thin, I ate one banana in 36 hours and lost 4KG. I completely lost my appetite and worked like a Trojan. The side effects were that I had chaffed lips and drank about 6 litres of water.

I’ve kept quiet about a love of mine for about 8 months now, hoping not to put the mockers on them – come Sunday, I’m either very happy or very sad.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

