Winter Already?

Last weekend we had the air conditioner, this morning I got up early for a 6.5K run, out the door at 6:02am, home by 6:03am, it was freezing – put my skins top on and headed out for the second time. I can’t make head nor tail of this weather.

Felt really good so I thought I’d push myself a little but still try and breathe comfortably. At the first K buzzer I thought I was traveling well and guessed I’d run it in 5:30 minute/k. Not sure why I felt that but I just did, 5:33 for the first and second k so I wasn’t far off. The 3rd and 4th K felt slower although not by much.

I’m getting better at gauging my speed as I now try not to look at the watch too frequently, although in the past when I felt like I’m getting sluggish I looked more often to ensure I picked up the pace. Nowadays, I couldn’t care less, it’s more about the k’s and not the speed.

For the first time I’m heading into a race without the need for pain killers or injury. Have I done enough K’s? probably not, have I done any hill or speed training? No, Will I beat my last year’s time? probably not. Will I enjoy it? You bet

Next run is Saturday -13k and only 5 more runs until the “Run For The Kids – 14.38K

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Winter Already?

  1. bearrunner says:

    Thanks! You seem to be getting your running back also!! It isn’t easy after a lay off

    cheers

Leave a Reply

