Today’s Post

Can’t think of a suitable or witty title for today’s post – so I’m running with it.

Got up early this morning and hardly thought about the run I needed to do – I usually pontificate about which way I will go or how hard I’ll push it, but today I just got out there and ran.

Enjoyable run for the most part, I even missed the first 2k buzzers and that was uphill into the wind. Cruised home and I sort of think it should have been an “Easy” run, or am I just getting lazy? 5:45-6:30 minute K’s are relatively easy for me at the moment and I rarely seem to test myself or have the ability to push it.

Three days out from St Patrick’s day a great Irish/Australian has succumbed to cancer. Jim Stynes was a ruck man for Melbourne football club and whilst I didn’t know it at the time, he was part of the very first AFL game I ever saw – Hawthorn v Melbourne at Waverley  – opening game of the season, 27th March 1993.

Sort of puts life into perspective doesn’t it – he was a few years younger than me, gave far more back to the community, was a successful athlete and president of  football club and yet he’s passed away. RIP

 

 

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Today’s Post

  1. bearrunner says:

    Good job with the run

Leave a Reply

