Detour

This morning’s long run for the week was a dire affair. I decided my route last night, but I never imagined it would be a challenge, even though I’ve run this route clockwise many times.

The first 800 metres were a steep decline but from there it was a long steady incline of about 6K. The intention was never to push it so I maintained a relaxed pace and even breath, but it was hard on my legs which felt heavy – maybe too much leg work at the gym.

At the 8K mark I did a quick calculation in my head and realised I’d be a few hundred metres short of the 11K with my planned route. I recall a walking track that ran along the railway line, so I headed up Anslem. The street is a “No Through road” but there was an opening at the end. No track just a grassy area, however within 50 metres the grass was knee high and wet, it was like running in soft sand at the beach. I managed about 150 metres of this until spied the walking track I was intending to run.

In front of me was the bridge, left of me houses and a 6 foot fence which was my only option.  Managed to scale it and jump down the other side and for the second day running I squelched home.

Lesson number 1 – don’t take detours that you’re not 100% sure of

Lesson number 2 – If you ignore lesson number 1, then double back ASAP

Tomorrow is an easy 30 minute run.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Detour

  1. JH says:

    I actually have the opposite rule: if I think of a new route, even if it’s just an old route in reverse, my rule is that I have to take it. Keeps things fresh.

Leave a Reply

