I Feel Good

Today was supposed to be a rest day or a cross training day but I decided to get a run in ahead of a few 30c days, plus I felt pretty good.

Thought I’d see if the wind on Pascoe Vale Road was southerly (at my back) early in the morning as the last time it was in my face. Nope! only a slight breeze though this morning  – gunned it (for me) and had 2K under my belt in just a tad over 10 minutes, but no sooner had I completed 3K I had 2K of uphills, albeit with a slight breeze at my back.

Satisfied with the run, my thoughts turn to my enjoyment of running. Sometimes I have  no go in me and I have to force myself to run – other times I just get up and run. Whilst on the run there are many K’s that are just too painful, mostly mental but occasionally physical. On the other hand there are many K’s that are just a joy  -they whiz  by and I feel really good, again both mentally and physically. Why can’t I just have the “feel good” K’s? I guess when I started this running caper they were all hard K’s and now I have the benefit of a few “good” K’s – hopefully the scales are unbalancing towards the latter.

One thing I’ve come to realise about myself is that when I run frequently and without injury I have a different (positive) outlook on life. I walk taller, I feel fitter, hopefully I look better – I’m a cross between Jean Luc Picard and Shrek. My swamp is my enterprise!

I think I’ve learned that it’s not in my best interests to push/punish my body too hard and to take each day/run as it comes and it’s no big deal if I don’t run. I think it makes the runs that I do do (?) that much more enjoyable.

Today’s run was the first time I had completed three consecutive days of running since August last year:

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

