Busted!

Up super early this morning for the week’s long run – 10K – and out the door at 5:50am. It was a coolish morning with a breeze that seems southerly more often than not. Southerly means that I run into the wind for the first 3K’s  which also happen to be uphill.

Needless to say the first 3k’s were and always are a bit of a slog, but this morning as I started to cross the bridge at Jacana station I saw a heap of blue flashing lights – as I approached I could see 4 police cars and two other cars which were facing each other in the drop off zone outside the station. There were about 12 policemen and 4 youths – I’m guessing it was a drug deal gone wrong, but I’m no expert!

As I approached them, they seemed to stop their searches and all had their eyes on me – it was as if time stood still. They were either thinking that I must be mad running at 6:00am on a Saturday morning or wondering whether I was running or walking fast!

After the initial struggle up Pascoe Vale Road, I got into the zone and barely noticed K’s 5, 6 and 7. It would be great if that started at K number 2 and finished at 10, but I guess I need to build up to that.

8K is the furthest I’ve run this prep and the knees told me so – the last two K’s were a struggle; a juggling act between getting home without any damage to the knees and not walking. Had about 45 minutes on the foam roller and applied an ice pack on both knees -they feel really good now.

Spent an hour at the gym doing upper body, had a nanna nap and have just decanted a bottle of red – life is good!

My boys have more lego than you can poke a stick at, but I wonder where Sam’s head is at -he’s built a lego toilet with a dual flush and a plunger!:

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

