Too Wet

The “Soft” tag seems to be fitting quite well at the moment. Yesterday’s 5K was postponed as it was too wet!

In order to get the run in today I had to get up at 4:30am so that I could be back before Michelle goes to the gym.

Out the door at 5:00am and it’s a perfect morning for a run; cool, little breeze and no traffic. I can’t say it was a pleasant run, I had a bit of lower back pain to contend with but the legs are doing great!

About the 4K mark I contemplated my position – I have just over 4 weeks to the “Run for the kids” (April 1st – I’m sure it’s a wind up) and the greatest distance I’ve covered is 6.5K. I could ramp up the distance a fair bit and get through, which historically what tends to happen to me! but, mentally, I’m not sure I can run that far anymore – it seems so far out of reach.

To cap it off I received my race number and timing tag in the mail today- timings everything.

Sara also mentioned that she had a Shogun trail bike like me and said it was heavy – I quite like the fact it’s a heavy bike as I don’t intend carrying very far or have the need to speed. I’m now on the prowl for a second hand Shogun to compliment the existing jalopy.

 

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Too Wet

  1. JH says:

    I just entered. God knows why, I never really enjoy it, other than my annual chat with you and Andrew!

Leave a Reply

