“Soft”

Went “soft” again yesterday – too hot, so went to the gym for an easy 20-30 minute run on the treadmill.

Figured an easy run would be 6:45 per minute K – well McMillan’s calculator suggested so. Started off and within about 300m I was bored, it seemed too slow, almost a very fast walk but not quite a run. I decided to drop 20 seconds per minute K every 200m and then have a walk break to achieve a pro rata rate of 6:50 per K.

25 minutes later and 4.2K I was again absolutely drenched – nothing soft (JH) about running in a gym on a tready without air conditioning.

Prior to going to the gym I picked up my mother and father in law from the city  – they stayed at Ridges on Exhibition Street and would highly recommend it – and on the way home I decided to buy myself a new bike – I’d contemplated buying a second hand Shogun and building a bike from the two without the issues.

My old bike (15 years) is a Shogun Trail breaker and it’s solid, albeit a bit rickety – the Diamond back is everything the Shogun is not -it feels cheap and light, it’s new and feels average. I’ll learn one day.

10K this week – that fills me with dread, not sure I’m ready for that.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Soft”

  1. JH says:

    Sorry about that…

  2. Sara says:

    I have a 10 year old Shogun Prairie Breaker- and I still love it- but it is heavy!

Leave a Reply

