MM Post Mortem

Melbourne Marathon (half) – the day after.

After an early night – in bed by 9:00pm  – I struggled with tossing and turning as I’m want to do in my sleep. I stopped taking any medication from lunch time yesterday and I was finding out how painful my left adductors really were.

I awoke about 5:30am this morning and couldn’t get out of bed – the pain in my left thigh was excruciating; I couldn’t move it let alone put any pressure on it. Five minutes later I managed to get to the ablutions and my over caring wife asks “Was it worth it?” As if to question my sanity.

So, was it it worth it?

I’ve given it a great deal of thought today and whilst it was probably not the smartest move, it at least tells me that I have the determination to finish what I started, even if it’s borne out of stubbornness. I may be stupid, but I’m no quitter. On a positive note, I haven’t had any cramps or soreness in any of my leg muscles so I must have done something right – right?

The next (training) run I do will be when I’m absolutely injury free, even if that’s a month or two away. I will run my next half, fully fit and under 2 hours and when that happens I will commit to a full marathon.

I can hear Michelle questioning my sanity again and she’s 7k away at the moment.

This was my second Melbourne Marathon – 10k last year – half this and I’d like to add my good and not so goods:

Good:

Nice flat course – only 2 slight hills at start and finish

Plenty of toilets – at the start

Volunteers – couldn’t do without them

Melbourne crowds – I’m no longer surprised – awesome

Weather – perfect for running

Not so:

Pacers – get them out earlier-just so I can be near them at least at the start

Gatorade – blue? taste like @#$%

Race day tracking – didn’t work

Finish area – chaos – Run Melbourne & R4TK does it heaps better

 

 

 

 

 

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Family, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to MM Post Mortem

  1. Twocatz says:

    I think resting until you are fully healed is a sensible way to go. Maybe a good sports massage every couple of weeks to keep everything nice a loose would help too.

Leave a Reply

