I want my knee injury back…

..because this adductor injury is doing my head in. Fenac, panadol and massages do not seem to quell the discomfort.

My last road run was last Wednesday and come Saturday I was trying to convince myself to go for a run. I got changed three times before heading to……… the gym! I did two fitness tests up and down the drive way after medication and even mapped out an 8k route on Mapmyrun. I piked out of the run in case I broke down 4/5k from home.

The treadmill it was – 4.8k of mind numbing boredom, sweating buckets and in a little bit of discomfort – 33 minutes including a couple of walk breaks and eight days (at the time) to go before the half, I was a broken man. I couldn’t run 21.1k in this state of pain – I’d run 9 weeks of conservative running – 240k and even missed a run every second week, how could this be?

Today is 6 days to go and I’m still unsure if I’m running it or not. I’m desperate to run it but only if I can do it without pain. My blind positiveness is highlighted by the fact that I bought a top at Kmart yesterday to keep me warm before the race and one I can discard as I start to run. $5 (down from $19.95) but I’m getting quite attached to it  – it fits well, keeps me warm and is great for wearing around the house – shame to throw it out!

We had the AFL grand final here at the weekend and the Geelong cats got up by over 6 goals – Andrew is a crazy cats fan – pity his other side can’t replicate this achievement in the English Npower league. It was a great contest, one of the best I’ve seen, although I was quietly cheering for the Magpies.

Due for 6.5k run tomorrow although in my present state of mind and pain, it seems doubtful – must remain positive.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I want my knee injury back…

  1. bearrunner says:

    Treadmills are boring.. i ran 10k on the treadmill due to post-tropical storm Ophelia blowing nearby yesterday (Hate running in the rain) and I ended up doing mile repeats just to finish the run!

    Cheers

  2. ajh says:

    Now why would a sensible West Ham supporter want to barrack for Collingwood? Anyway, hope the injury settles before the weekend. I’ve decided I’m going into my run on Sunday without any recent runs, less than of starting injured. Now, injuring myself during the run, that is a different matter!

Leave a Reply

