That was supposed to be easy!

Today (or this morning) stipulated an easy 6.5k and I had every intention of taking it nice and slow considering a 19k run in 3 days time.

But – there’s always a but. I awoke early as per normal at 5am, but! my left groin was giving me grief and my right knee was telling me to go slow or stop. After about 2k I’d settled into a nice (slow) rhythm and completed the run without fanfare and bereft of any discomfort -thankfully

Not satisfied with a stretch with the roller, I jumped or rather limped into a cold bath to soothe my legs. How people put ice into this equation is beyond me, although I feel the benefit of the cold, I can’t help wondering how much further benefit I’d achieve with an extra infusion of ice.

Tomorrow is a 5k “race pace” and I’m targeting 26:15 – time will tell.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to That was supposed to be easy!

  1. Andy Round says:

    Sounds like your body was getting itself prepared for tomorrows session. I learnt the hard way that it is generally a good idea to listen to your body when its not happy.

Leave a Reply

