No More Intervals!

Well at least for this preparation. I must confess that today’s 7 x 400m had filled me with some dread from the moment I set up the plan some 8 weeks ago. I always struggle with the intervals as they’re so hard and you never get the chance to settle into a nice rhythm. I prefer the longer runs as you can sort of veg out and relax – intervals never give you (me) that opportunity.

Another early morning -5:00am and I’m not feeling great so after the initial warm up (6 mins) I eased into the speed work. First 400m at an easyish 4:48minute/k, by the the third interval I’d dropped it to 4:35 and the last at 4:13 although that was with a slight downhill. Each interval has 400m “sprint” (I use the term loosely) and a 75 second recovery.

Tomorrow I have an easy 6.5k followed by a “race pace” 5k on Thursday and then the big one on Saturday -19k.

Under three weeks until MM and I’m already trying to plan my next training regime and next target race. Problem being; the next decent race on the horizon appears to be the R4TK in April. That means a six month lead time, so I reckon I need a lead in race in January/February – any suggestions?

Lastly I’d like to congratulate Andy Ratcliffe on completing the “3 miles (4.8k) a day, every day for a whole year” challenge. He’s the second to complete the challenge after James Ellis started the trend back in 2009.

I’ve followed the blog for all of Andy’s runs and have been amazed at his transformation; he started off at 5+minute k’s and now regularly runs in the low 4’s and has even completed a couple of marathons in under 4 hours. Take rest Andy, you’ve deserved it.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to No More Intervals!

  1. bearrunner says:

    Great run! Intervals suck… Another thing you could do is fartleks as speed/ interval training.. .They are a bit more enjoyable..

    Cheers

  2. There is nothing relaxing about 4:13/km. Good work. 🙂

  3. Yep, but downhill is a lot more relaxing than uphill!

Leave a Reply

