Target Set, Target Achieved

With monotonous regularity, Michelle sets targets and then over achieves them. Frustratingly for me, she does it off a relatively low k base.

Today she completed the first “Spring into Shape” run around the Yarra. Her target time was actually 51 minutes, but I nominated 50 minutes to add a little bit of pressure.

The course mapped out to be 8.6k and Garmin says 49:41 and the official time says 49:42 although the course was supposed to be 8.4k.

Overall 291 of 643 – Gender 151 of 430 and 67 of 166 in her division – probably best not to mention that her next run will be in the next division! Well done.

I see a certain Kate Middleton also ran today, although I couldn’t see William!:

There was a huge queue for the series “T-shirt” as it was on a “first come first serve” basis, for the right size. Forgive me for being cynical here, but I thought the idea was to encourage people to sign up for all three races and give them a T-shirt for doing so. Everyone who signed up should have got one regardless of the sizes. Michelle queued up before the race to ensure her size, but there would be some who missed out – simply not good enough.

Today was a rest day for me, which I was grateful for; my calves were a little sore today. Mid afternoon we headed to the zoo which was chockers due to the nice weather and the fact that kids are free at weekends.

Next run is a 7 x 400m interval on Tuesday.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

