One more long run

I continue to amaze myself – today is the end of week eight for me and “touch wood” I’ve been injury free.

This morning’s early run (5:30am) called for 17k – a distance I’d never trained before.It’s only an extra 1k from last week but needed a whole new approach in route planning. The long, slow run was supposed to be at 6:15/6:30 pace and I was on target for the first 4 k’s, although it was uphill and into a breeze. By the time I’d hit Camp Road, I knew this was going to be a sub 6:15 per k run as I was doing it pretty easily.

I’m amazed at the time considering that I had 3 walk breaks at 4k, 9k and 13k – and it was 1 second less for one more k than my 16k run from last week. Next week is a 19k and then the taper which has a “long” run of 8k!

Michelle tackles the first of three “Spring into Shape” series tomorrow in the 8.4k event – target time is 50 minutes – Good luck to all who are competing.

 

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One more long run

  1. Andrew(AJH) says:

    Sorry mate but that run we were talking about will have to wait, I seem to have screwed my knee again.

  2. That’s Ok mate- sorry to hear about your knee – hope it gets better soon – hopefully it doesn’t affect the cycling.

  3. sassydrcil says:

    Well done! How did Michelle go in SIS?

Leave a Reply

