Tempo Run 45 minutes

Week eight and I’ve began a totally new structure to my training. Not sure it’s the best idea 4 weeks out from a half, but it has to be better than the 18k in six weeks leading into the “Run Melbourne” 21.1k.

Today’s run called for a 45 minute tempo run. I set the Garmin at 9 minute warmup and cool down (6:00-6:30 minute/k) and a race pace of 5:30 minute/k for 5 k’s.

Almost to plan although the 5k took 23 seconds longer than anticipated. Not overly worried about that – another 8k under my belt.

Tomorrow is an easy 5k followed by a 6.5k race pace run on Thursday. Saturday is 17k  – I’m still mentally struggling over these long distances. Appreciate that 17k isn’t that long for some, but for me, it’s a helluva long way.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tempo Run 45 minutes

  1. bearrunner says:

    Great job on the run today!

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

