50 Not Out

Saturday I raised my bat for my maiden half century – using a cricket metaphor I’ve only ever had one go at this (life) and the pure statistics suggest I’m doing OK.

Saturday ended up being a low key affair with my in laws coming for dinner and sharing a nice Margaret River Shiraz. No runs just a boxing class mid morning.

After the Shiraz and a few beers I ended up in bed by 9:30pm – I couldn’t even stay up to see the Swans beat St Kilda – my favourite team is anyone that’s playing St Kilda.

Early to bed usually means an early morning and true to form I woke at 3:45am. I thought of going for my long run at about 4:00am but delayed it until 4:49am so as to minimise the risk of bumping into revelers coming home from the night clubs/bars/parties.

There’s only 4 weeks left until the Melbourne Marathon and even though I’m on week eight of an eleven week plan, I’ve decided to adopt the “pace” of the “Runners World Training calculator”.

The long run stipulates 6:30 to 7:20 minute/k’s but I figured I’d struggle with the pace without having a few walk breaks- not that I’m incapable of running slower, it’s just that my comfortable pace seems to be about 6:00/6:15 minute/k’s.

Strangely the pace I did overall was spot on and my breathing was easy and relaxed but my legs felt really fatigued. I’m hoping it was the lack of fluids (alcohol aside) the previous day.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 50 Not Out

  1. Good effort after a few reds. My last long run before the Brissie half marathon earlier in the year was after a few (more than you had, perhaps? 🙂 ). Wasn’t pleasant. I did 6:50/km, and not voluntarily. Did wonders for my hangover, though.

  2. Andrew(AJH) says:

    Happy birthday mate! Sounds like the training is going ok.

Leave a Reply

