The stress of the long run

For some reason I get a little worked up when my runs start to get around or exceed 15k. It’s like 15k is a lot further than say 12 or 13k and whilst it is 3 or 2k further it relies on a whole new world of planning.

This week I was worrying about when I could fit it in, thought of Friday morning- didn’t happen as my legs felt sore. If I did it Sunday morning I’d have to get up before 5:00am in order to get back to take the boys swimming – Sunday pm was out due to fathers day.

That left Saturday, but that meant doing it before or after a strenuous boxing class and taking the boys tennis before  8:30am. I decided  to do it before both and headed out just before 6:00am.

I planned on 6 minute k’s and really had no choice for the first 3.5k’s as it was uphill and into a pretty stiff wind. The run down Hume Highway was a breeze – literally as the wind was at my back.

All up it was an easyish run on a windy and warm morning. Next week I have the same dilemma with an extra k (16) – Saturday is my birthday and Tennis and boxing are still on the agenda – Sunday is also early morning swimming and a meal at The Quiet Man (and a few sherbets)

Just opened a superb bottle of Shiraz and it tastes magnificent even without the benefit of decanting – Wicks 2007 Adelaide Hills – $20 at 1st Choice – one is never enough!

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

