Where did they come from?

Runners that is – as most will attest my runs are normally conducted early in the morning and it’s very rare to see another runner.

This morning was different; I saw one guy and three ladies, one which I nearly collided with coming around a corner at the same time. I think I scared her more, I’m not a pretty sight at 6:00am. I think the threat of warmer weather and lighter mornings around the corner may have encouraged a few to start doing something or rekindle what they did prior to their winter hibernation.

Today’s run called for a 6.5k race pace run although I’m still trying to fathom what pace it’s supposed to be. Is it what I want it to be or what it is when I work harder in the run? Well this morning I decided to work a bit harder and see if I could maintain it for the whole 6.5k. The answer was yes and I seem about 10 seconds a k quicker than my tempo runs.

Again no music, I’m getting quite used to this and I can’t say I’m really missing it either.

A big weekend (well for me it is) coming up with a 15k long run and a 5k easy run- contemplating doing one of them tomorrow morning; I’ll see how I feel at 5:30am.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

