A Veteran’s Tempo Run

Into week 6 (of 11) and today’s tempo run called for 40 minutes. I’d guessed that I’d complete about 7.2k at 5:30minute k’s.

Decided on running without music again and can’t say I missed it. One thing I’ve noticed on the past two runs is my breathing and how hard it seems to get. I’ve tried to slow the breaths down and not gasp so often although I think it may affect my pace. Still I’m happy with 5:30 minute k’s at the moment and if I could maintain that over 21.1k I’d be very happy.

I’m a little perplexed about the timing for Sunday’s de Castella run- my Garmin said 54:35 yet the websites results say 55:22. I’m still happy with this time but the difference is 47 seconds which I believe is huge, how can my watch be that far out when nearly every other race I’ve competed in it’s always within 5 seconds.

I was amazed to see that of the 390 starters in the 10k, 261 of them were women which equates to 66.9%. I placed 132nd of 390, 78th of 129 men and 11th of 28 veterans! (45-59 year old)- I’m not even 50 and I’m a veteran??? Now I feel old.

My last run for the month and it’s my first 100k month since April and I’m pleased to say I’ve been quite conservative and haven’t really pushed myself.

 

 

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Veteran’s Tempo Run

  1. Andrew(AJH) says:

    Maybe they are just giving you a gun time, rather than a net time so it includes your time to cross the start line? What have you entered at MM?

  2. Not sure on the times although it’s not a great concern. I’m in the half for MM. You?

  3. Andrew(AJH) says:

    Nothing at this stage.

Leave a Reply

