de Castella 10k

Yesterday’s post highlighted the Great Wall Marathon and its multitude of hills and steps and even though this morning’s de Castella 10k is less than a quarter of the distance it has its fair share of hills also.

I’d previously tracked this in the car so I knew what to expect – or did I? I hadn’t taken into account that we’d only do the loop at the 3k once and we’d have even more rolling hills to deal with.

Got there nice and early and found a car park about 200m from the start line, grabbed a coffee (I rarely drink coffee) to warm me up – it was freezing and I delayed putting my bag in until 20 minutes before the start (8:00am).

Why is it always on race days that my bladder needs to empty three times in an hour? I’d hardly drunk anything all morning – must be nerves although I felt very calm this morning, go figure.

Started in the forward third of the crowd and gently rolled down Nolan Street well within myself due to the many walkers at the front- can’t be bothered questioning this anymore.

The first k was a breeze, all down hill and by the 2k I’d settled into a nice groove and took out my earpiece and ran without music – lately running with music has been more of an annoyance than a distraction. Up and down without any walk breaks except for the water station. I am truly amazed at that especially since the hills were so long and steep.

The last hill was a killer although a 6 minute k would suggest otherwise, I was feeling really strong throughout and will probably lament that had I found a flat course my PB would have been in jeopardy. Still I’m over the moon with my time, it was certainly a tough course, the hardest I’ve ever run and just maybe my lack of running (or taper!) in the past week may give rise to the “less is more” mantra.

The splits attest the the uphill and down dale nature of this course:

All in all a great event, very well organised and plenty of amenities for us blokes. As for the girls, well it’s the same everywhere isn’t it? You always have to queue and it’s always a long one.

The goodie bag had this months edition of R4YL, a bottle of water, some biscuits, anti rash cream, electrolyte powder and an energy bar – not bad considering what we got for the Run Melbourne.

Great day, great event and I feel great!

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to de Castella 10k

  1. Andrew(AJH) says:

    Well done mate, that s a tough little race.

Leave a Reply

