Interval Workout – 6 x 400m

Another early morning run and it seems like ages since I last used the Garmin for interval training. I think it was with Andrew back in May.

Set the splits up last night with a 400m sprint and a one minute recovery walk. The warm up time is not set until you hit the lap button for the first sprint. So I warmed up for about 1k and hit the lap button. The watch buzzed and I set off on a sprint that seemed to last forever. After about 600m I looked at the watch and it was still on the screen with “Do workout”  on it. I’d forgotten to hit the “enter” button to start the workout- doh!

Strangely when I see the overall minute per k pace it’s almost identical to my usual pace. So if I run hard every 400m and walk for a minute, I’m no worse off and I get to have heap of walk breaks. Not sure if I can keep that up for 21.1k though.

Got my race pack today for the “de Castella” 10k this weekend – it’s a cool laminated bib with my name on it:

 

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Interval Workout – 6 x 400m

  1. Andrew(AJH) says:

    Intervals? What are they? 🙂

  2. sassydrcil says:

    oooh, those are tough, did them last week with Emma. Well done, Alex!

Leave a Reply

