Dickhead!

My long run for the week this morning and as I headed up “Hume Hwy” a guy leaned out of the passenger side window of a ute and shouted; “You dickhead”

He may have had a point, it was 6:00am on a Sunday and I’d already covered over 5k, plus it was also only 5c – I may be a dickhead but at least I’m a fit one!

Next Sunday I have the “de Castella” 10k run around – or rather up and down – Yarra Boulevard. It may only be 10k but it has some very steep hills to negotiate and I’m setting a target of under an hour.

My weekly long runs on the planner after next week are 15,16,17 & 19k – the following week after the 19k is the Melbourne marathon – unbelievable isn’t it?

With the longer runs in mind I decided to experiment with “Powerbar” gels on my run this morning and took some online advice about taking one after 45-50 minutes, which should equate to about 8k’s. I planned to take it with a bottle of water I was to purchase from the East Street bakery.

The baker took an age to serve me, hence the difference in the elapsed time. I not sure if it gave me any extra energy but I’ve found a new remedy for constipation! My stomach started doing cart wheels about 2 k from home and luckily I held on!

I may have to experiment with other gels or bars, although eating a bar whilst running is not something I can see me doing unless I completely stop for a few minutes.

Lastly we have movement at the ranch- retaining walls have been put up on the block and crushed rock and piping has been delivered:

 

 

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dickhead!

  1. ajh says:

    I experimented with about four different brands of gels when I did my one and only marathon and they all had that effect on me so I ended up making do with sucking on jelly beans.

  2. sassydrcil says:

    Good on you for not yelling “You Fuckwit” back.

Leave a Reply

