Yuck – it’s not a typo!

Today was one of those days where I couldn’t decide whether to have my run or not -it was only 6.5k but it was at “race pace’, whatever that is. In order to get my run in I needed to be home and out before 6:00pm in order to be back home in time for Chelle to go to a boxing class.

By the time I got home it was nearly 6:00pm and the decision to run or not was made for me due to the fact that I had missed the deadline. Or was it? Chelle then decided that she wasn’t feeling up to a class so I could go for my run after all. Sheesh, talk about a roller coaster; now I had to mentally prepare all over again.

Looked at my planner and toyed with the idea of doing my 11k long in advance – even mapped it out on mapmyrun. In the end sanity prevailed and I headed out for my 6.5k “race pace” run.

By the 3k buzz on my watch I knew I had taken the wrong route – mentally I had combined the 6.5k route with the 11k route and as if by auto pilot I headed out for something in between.

I carried on and was trying to fathom the best way home without racking up a heap of extra k’s. To add to this stress my lower back was giving me grief, it was a warmish night and I had too many layers on and if that wasn’t enough my old skins are losing their elasticity and began to chaff my nether regions -they’ll be going in the bin.

I ended up about a k short of home and I have a “race pace” of 5:44min/k’s. This would have to go down as one of the least satisfying runs I’ve ever had. Still at least it was another 7.5k’s – I jogged the last k home.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

