Downhill from here?

A couple of things have occurred in the last 24 hours that have me wondering:

  1. Andrew is considering giving up running and concentrating on his biking due to his “aging” body – his words not mine (aging is the US version of the word- ageing)
  2. The route I ran this morning is almost a carbon copy of one I did 4 months ago – difference was 3 minutes and 20 seconds – slower over 5k

Wondering – Is my age catching up with me? Should I be satisfied with slower times as my body ages? What the hell.

I’m not giving up running so I guess I’m going to have to accept that I may be slowing up – or maybe I’ve just lost my fitness – either way I love the solitude of running and will stop when it becomes a chore.

 

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Downhill from here?

  1. sassydrcil says:

    If it feels good, do it, is what I say.
    Ageing. It is ageing. Not Aging.

  2. ajh says:

    It was a typo okay, I know how to spell 🙂

  3. JH says:

    I’d be surprised if you were getting that much slower purely from ageing (or aging for that matter). It could have something to do with injuries and less training…

Leave a Reply

