Cold Running

Newsflash – it’s cold at 5:45am

It’s been so long since I had an early morning run that I’ve forgotten how cold it is. This morning was 4c with a wind chill factor considerably less. I wore my new (it’s 3 months since I purchased it) nightlife jacket for the first time and I’m officially the second living thing that can be seen from the moon:

If I get run over wearing it, it’s likely an enemy or a pyscho that hates runners – slow runners.

It has a heap of pockets and one specifically for your iphone/ipod and whilst it creates a luminous target, it also has a few reflectors on the rear. Aside from the OH & S benefits it also is a very good guard against the wind and is lightweight and apparently it’s water resistant although I’ve not run in it in the rain yet.

 

The run itself was uneventful apart from the fact it was so windy and that the wind was heading southerly whilst I was running northerly – Pascoe Vale Road was a struggle. I was glad to get another run under my belt without any need for the Fenac or any real injury concern – famous last words……………

Cross training day tomorrow and a weekend of 10k and a 4k easy run – looking at the Princes Park 10k on Sunday and an easy 4k on Saturday.

 

 

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cold Running

  1. JH says:

    So what’s the first thing that can be seen from the moon? Don’t say Christine Nixon, that would be mean.

Leave a Reply

