Week 1 of 11

It’s been awhile since I’ve had a structured training plan and the first run on the plan was intervals. I was at the gym last night doing weight work on my lower body and decided that instead of getting up today at stupid o’clock I’d do my intervals on the treadmill.

The treadmill has 1001 different settings but do you think I could find one that had a 400m easy/walk followed by a 400m sprint? You guessed correctly – in the end I just manually adjusted it on the fly.

The walk/jog sections I did at 6kph and ran the interval at 12.8kph – about 4:40 min per k pace. I’m taking this steady to begin with so hopefully I can complete the whole training without injury – something I have been able to do thus far.

Next run is Thursday – a 5k tempo run which will be my first early morning run in ages and a chance to wear my new “nightlife” reflective gear that I’ve had for 3 months!

My annual running regime:

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 1 of 11

  1. bearrunner says:

    I have often wondered the same thing.. why it is not possible to program in what it is a person wants to accomplish on the treadmill,,, Great workout!

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

