I don’t want to know

There are times in my life when I want to know what the future holds and being inquisitive by nature there are times that I wished that I didn’t know what beckons.

Today was one of the latter days, no not the “latter day saints” although we did get a visit from a couple of Jehovah Witnesses who now have a new weekly to rival “Runners World”. They now call it “Awake”, I’m sure it used to be the “WatchTower” – I always associated that with “all along the…”, the classic by Hendrix. Running whilst “awake” is not a topic that “Runners World” has covered yet; maybe the JW’s are onto something.

I digress…..

So today I had a spare couple of hours so I decided check out the start area to the De Castella 10k run on 28th August and try and map it out with my Garmin.

The "Out" leg of the De Castella 10k

Far out! This is one run I wish I’d never known about- It starts off great – 1.2k downhill (50m descent) and rolls up and down for 4 k before you turn around and do exactly the opposite – the last 1.2k uphill (50m ascent).

This should be fun!

The loop at the 3k marker is inaccessible to cars so I had to walk it; the views from here are stunning and the bushland is a bit of a welcome shock being that I was only 5 minutes from the city.

No exercise at all this week and I’m kicking back tonight with a Jacobs Creek Reserve Shiraz – a great wine for only $14.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I don’t want to know

  1. ajh says:

    Yeah, I’ve never run it but have heard that is a tough course. I’m thinking about doing something next Sunday at the Sri Chinmoy Princes Park if I’m feeling ok, only a 5k or 10k though.

  2. morseyruns says:

    Yum- I love a cheap good red!

Leave a Reply

