Post Mortem

It’s four days since the run and my quads have returned to normal but the stiffness that I felt in them the first few days has somewhat masked the discomfort I felt in my knee prior to the run.

I would have thought that a 21.1k would have made my knee/leg infinitely worse and that I’d be laid up for weeks. In fact it’s no worse than it was prior to the run and I’d be confident in saying it actually feels better. It’s still not 100% but I reckon I’ll be good to start a new running plan next week:

IW = Interval workout with a 10 minute warm up

There’s a 10k race on 28th August  – 31st de Castella run which is perfect timing and just up the road from where I first lived when I came to Melbourne.

Strangely my weight has stabilised around the 80kg mark where 3 months ago it was circa 83kg but for some reason my pot belly has returned – as always my wife can point out my indiscretions without any fanfare- too many carbs and too many beers – don’t you hate the truth?

 

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Post Mortem

  1. bearrunner says:

    I hear you on the beers… I have been drinking too many beers myself lately… They are so nice on the hot days!
    Good job on the run… Sometimes those long runs shake out the cobwebs

    Cheers

  2. sassydrcil says:

    I have just looked through your past few post, and I am so proud of you.
    Not only for your run, but the fact that you did it tough, against the burden of injury.
    More than that, you were thrilled with your effort. I am happy that you are happy, and not berating yourself for your time. Enjoy, marinade in your achievement. You have earned it.

  3. bearrunner says:

    Lol, I believe I had 2 tall boys throughout the 9 holes than 1 afterwards… Got me through it

    cheers

Leave a Reply

