Dead or Alive?

DEAD – I’m hardly walking and my lower limbs are stiff as a board but strangely I feel so ALIVE – the type of feeling you get after you haven’t exercised for a while and your muscles are reminding you that they exist. If I can feel this good about myself, how do the people that complete marathons feel? I am so in awe of them.

After the run yesterday we’d planned on a Greek meal and a few beers, but I was hankering for a Guinness, not sure why I just wanted one (or many), so we ended up at Bridie O’Reillys – and I had a few and ate all of the 1500 calories I’d burnt during the run and more.

Fell asleep by 9:00pm and glad to report that I haven’t any cramps yet and my right knee feels heaps better for the run  – would the fenac have worn off by now? That’s a question for the doc.

Chelle (remember her?) has also had her woes with injury but is planning on the “Spring into Shape” series starting in September. She’s going to start with the 8.4k and finish the last two with the 12.7k.

Thanks to JH  for his encouragement who must be injured as he’s not posting much these days – my effort must seem pedestrian to him as he’s a real speedster.

What next Andrew?  well I guess the Melbourne Marathon is 12 weeks away, so I’m game for the half again -you in? It looks like a relatively flat course and I’m confident of a PB! but this time I’m going to start off slow and work up to 15-20k runs in around 10 weeks.

MM now has live tracking, so your friends and family can track you progress in real time; they’re going to have to be patient with me based on recent results!

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dead or Alive?

  1. bearrunner says:

    The legs always want to move after you get them going!!!! Greek food is awesome!!!

    Cheers

  2. Andrew(AJH) says:

    Dunno, have to get over this knee first, then decide. I’d love to do the half though.

  3. morseyruns says:

    Glad you enjoyed the post race celebrations- sounds like they were very well deserved beers!

Leave a Reply

