Needles and Pins

Two blogs in two days and not a run in sight!

Osteo says we’ll try some “dry needling” – was I in for a surprise?

Dry needling uses fine filament needles, like those used in acupuncture. These needles are used to target specific trigger points to release muscle tension or reset muscles. Well I’m here to tell you that some muscles when they reset or release tension are bloody painful.

And how come they stick all these needles in me and I’m not bleeding?

I had needles in my calf, quads, hamstrings, hip and my aductors – by far the greatest discomfort was in my hamstrings. I’m hoping this is doing me some good as the osteo said that I need to refrain from any leg work /running for a month after the “Run Melbourne” half. Like I’m going to be happy with that.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Needles and Pins

  1. bearrunner says:

    I bet that would hurt… Hitting the muscle in just the right area… Maybe that’s what I ned for my shoulder

    Cheers

  2. Andrew(AJH) says:

    I’ve had dry needling a few times. Only problem was my physio was so damn cute I had o pretend to be macho and pretend it didn’t hurt.

  3. gogirl2011 says:

    That sounds very painful, but I hope that it will help. I am glad you are still blogging and keeping us all up to date.

  4. morseyruns says:

    Oh yuck- I hate dry needling- you are much more brave than I am – it turns me into whimpering mess!

Leave a Reply

