1/3 of a 1/2

Today was the day that I’d selected as my next run and first run outside in six weeks. I have continued with my weekly Saturday boxing/cardio class, so the dilemma was whether to run before it or after it.

Enjoyed my lie in so it would have to be after it. We drove to the boxing class and I was to run home after it. My longest run in the past six weeks has been 3k on the treadmill, so I planned to have a few walk breaks and would be happy with 6 minute/k’s. First thing to hit me was how windy it was; the second was the realisation that the whole run would be into the wind and uphill!

I had small walk breaks at 2k, 3k, 5k and about a minute wait at the lights on Pascoe Vale Road. The Garmin tells me that for the first 6.6k’s I had a 27 metre incline; no wonder it felt hard. I guess running point to point doesn’t afford the benefit of wind assistance or the decline’s; might trying running to the class next week.

Still too early to assess whether I’ll do the “Run Melbourne” half but if my knee feels like it does now (5 hours after the run), I’ll definitely run it and be happy with a time circa 2 hours 15 minutes.

Next run on Tuesday (6 or 7k) and leg workout at the gym tomorrow.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 1/3 of a 1/2

  1. sassydrcil says:

    how are the runs going now???
    I will be at run melb, looking for you guys

Leave a Reply

