3000m

Ignored the 10% rule and made my own 50% rule for today’s tready run in the gym. 3k in 18 minutes – last 2 runs were 2k. Started off at a gentle 7kph and gradually ramped it up to 12-13kph. Whilst I had the ipod in I noticed this guy next to me continually looking at my speed and adjusting his to the same speed as mine – guess I must have been looking at his also.

He must have been mid 20’s and probably thought he needed to keep up with this old codger. However by the time I ramped up to 13kph around 2.3k he gave up and went back to 10kph- Nothing like a bit of competition!

Anyway my leg is going from strength to strength and whilst it’s not 100% it’s very close and I feel confident of running a nice 10-12k in the next week. If I can do that without troubling my leg, I’ll push on with the “Run Melbourne” half. If not I guess it’s not worth downgrading to the 10k or 5k as my leg wouldn’t be right.

 

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 3000m

  1. bearrunner says:

    good job on the run! Looks like it is heading in the correct direction… It bothers me more when people jump on the treadmill and put the speed at like 20 mph for like 30 seconds than get off

    Cheers

  2. ajh says:

    Rode down Winifred St this morning! Thought of you as I whizzed past your block. Glad to hear the leg is getting better.

Leave a Reply

