The Long Run: Week Two

As it’s Mother’s Day tomorrow and I’ve got to take the kids swimming at 7:25am, I decided to swap tomorrow’s 16k long run for the 6k run today.

I’ve decided to run the long runs during the day as opposed to my “pet” time of 5:30am so that I can get accustomed to running during the day.  I find it so much easier to jump out of bed at say 5:00am and get prepared for a lonely run – there’s not much about round here at that time and it’s still dark, so I sort of zone out and can run on the roads without fear of being run over. It’s a pleasant “solitary confinement” whereas during the day I have to share my run with the environment – and as Greta Garbo said “I want to be alone” – can you believe it’s 21 years since she died?

Today I waited until 1:00pm to go for the long run and decided on a walk break every 4k. By the time I hit the first break I was under 20 minutes and I had visions of a 5k PB, but I was true to my word and slowed for a short walk and a swig of my Gatorade.

The chosen track had some pretty steep hills and I’m astonished at my times given that I had 4 walk breaks with one at about the 12k mark of more than a couple of minutes.

It’s nearly a year since my first ever run (May 22nd) and today was the longest and only the fifth over 12k – 1 x 16k: 2 x 15k: 1 x 14.4k & 1 x 13k. Sometimes I have trouble comprehending that I can run over 3k let alone these distances – just goes to show what the mind and body can achieve with the right attitude.

A 6k tomorrow and Happy Mothers day to all the Mothers out there -enjoy.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Long Run: Week Two

  1. JH says:

    Looks faster than Andrew’s.

  2. ajh says:

    Thanks for saving me the trouble of pointing that out John 🙂

Leave a Reply

