RIP Seve

My early twenties in the UK were consumed with Golf and I had a hero to look up to in Seve Ballesteros – a spanish golfer of sublime ability who played without fear and had an infectious personality, which is sadly lacking in today’s golf- he once played a shot from the car park at Royal Lytham onto the green and made birdie! – a feat that disgusted the purists but had the rank and file (me included) in awe. The amateurish shot prior was one which we all could play but the recovery was breath taking.

Seve Ballesteros – RIP 7th May 2011

He recently said of his life after a few years of having a brain tumour:

“One day you feel fantastic, the next you never know what is going to happen. You just take a look at how many days of glory I had before. It has been a fantastic life and this, what has happened to me, is what I will call destiny; one test that God is putting on me.”

Enough said.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to RIP Seve

  1. JH says:

    Tiger had an infectious… well, I have a feeling something might have been infectious.

  2. twocatz says:

    A great man who will be sadly missed by many. That shot he played from the car park will go down as the greatest shot ever played

Leave a Reply

